After hearing closing new of Google’s smartphone based project ARA, we have one more news of shutdown of a project. This time, google is going to suspend it’s geolocation 0reinted photo sharing service ‘Panoramio’ which add photos uploaded by the user directly to Google maps, Google earth, and its other geolocation-based services. Every month google replaces images with new photo being uploaded by the tourists, local people, and google’s labors.
If you have linked your Panoramio profile with a Google account, all your photos will be copied to the Google Album Archive at full resolution after Panoramio goes away. These copied photos will not use any of your Google storage quotas. Your photos that appear in Google Maps will continue to appear in Maps unless you delete them later from the Maps Contributions panel. Read about SEO guide
Note : You must link your Panoramio profile with a Google+ account for your photos to be automatically copied.
After 4 November 2k16, you’ll continue to have access to your photos in Panoramio for a year, but you will no longer be able to add new photos, likes, or comments on Panoramio platform.
If you were an active User of Panoramio then you must have uploaded loads of photos and images on it. If you want your photos back you can download your photos one-by-one but it will take time for sure. So, here is a trick, follow the given steps and you can download all your memories as a Zip (compressed) file.
Export your photos to a local zip file
For Panoramio users with Google accounts:
- Visit takeout.google.com and follow the instructions there.
For Panoramio users who have not upgraded to a Google account:
- Sign in to Account.
- Go to your account’s settings page.
- Click the “Get photos” button under the Data Liberation heading (this is only visible to users with legacy Panoramio accounts; users with Google accounts must use takeout.google.com)
Removing photos or deleting your account
If you prefer to no longer share your photos with Google Maps, you can delete your photos or your entire account at any time. If you haven’t linked your Panoramio account with a Google account, your Panoramio account will be deleted automatically when Panoramio is retired after November 2017.
You can also choose to delete your Panoramio account (and photos) immediately by logging in, opening “Settings”, and clicking the “Delete your account” option. You can also navigate to this page directly by using this link.
If you delete any photos (or delete your entire account) before Panoramio is retired in November 2017, that content will not be automatically copied to the Google Album Archive and will stop appearing in Google Maps.